GENERAL LIST OF FACULTY WHO CAN SERVE ON THE INTERNATIONAL & AREA STUDIES (MA-IAS) THESIS/EXAM COMMITTEES

Updated November 2015

These faculty members may serve as committee members for MA exams and theses. Students may request, by exception, to add a maximum of one faculty member not on this list as a second or third member of the committee.

PLEASE NOTE:

- * Denotes member of the Graduate Group in International and Area Studies
- ^ Denotes Adjunct Faculty/Lecturer who may not serve as chair of the student's committee

Vinod K. Aggarwal (Political Science)
Wali Ahmadi (Near Eastern Studies)
Nezar AlSayyad* (Architecture and City and Regional Planning)
Max Auffhammer* (Agriculture and Resource Economics)
Michael Austin (Social Welfare)

Irene Bloemraad (Sociology)

Teresa Caldeira (City and Regional Planning) Greg Castillo (Architecture) Robert Cervero (City and Regional Planning) Margaret Chowning (History) C. Greig Crysler (Architecture)

Alain de Janvry (Agriculture and Resource Economics) Brad DeLong* (Economics)

Laura Enriquez (Sociology)
Edwin Epstein* (Professor Emeritus, Professor of the Graduate School)

Louise Fortmann (Environmental Science, Policy and Management)

Thomas Gold (Sociology)
Emily Gottreich^* (History and International and Area Studies)

Gillian Hart* (Geography) Charles Hirschkind (Anthropology) Ron Hassner (Political Science) James Holston (Anthropology)

Alan Karras^* (International and Area Studies) G. Mathias Kondolf (Landscape Architecture)

Michel Laguerre (African-American Studies) Margaret Larkin (Near Eastern Studies) John Lie (Sociology)

Samer Madanat (Civil and Environmental Engineering) Jane Mauldon (Public Policy) James Midgley (Social Welfare) Saba Mahmood (Anthropology) Edward Miguel (Economics) Minoo Moallem (Gender and Women's Studies)

Michael Nacht (Public Policy) Laura Nader (Anthropology)

Aihwa Ong (Anthropology)

Stefania Pandolfo (Anthropology) Lanchih Po^ (International and Area Studies)

Isha Ray (Energy and Resources Group) Raka Ray (Sociology)

Alex Saragoza (Ethnic Studies) Harley Shaiken (Geography and Education) Eric Stover^ (Public Health) Ann Swidler (Sociology)

Clare Talwalker^ (International and Area Studies) Estelle Tarica (Spanish and Portuguese) Cihan Tugal (Sociology)

Bonnie Wade (Music) Michael Watts* (Geography) Steve Weber (Political Science)

Wen-hsin Yeh (History)

Peter Zinoman (History) Darren Zook^ (International and Area Studies) John Zysman (Political Science)